A Roast Chicken Nightmare and A Winning Salad

Tonight I made my usual roast beer can chicken, but I was out of the injectable marinade I like to use. I decided I would substitute the juice of about eight lemons from the tree in our backyard with a splash of olive oil. I pumped that chicken full of juice until its flesh was rock hard, as is my wont, and by the time I was done I was already noticing some suspicious developments in the appearance of my bird. Something was happening there under the skin, but I didn’t know what it was and I popped it in the oven. The result was that the lemon juice somehow turned the chicken flesh to a mushy consistency. Like lemony chicken flavored mashed potatoes. Undesirable.

Fortunately How Sweet Eat’s Arugula Kale Reggiano $20Salad was a revelation, so not all of dinner was something to be simply tolerated.

I did save the drippings from my chicken though, they were super-flavorful and I think they might make a good marinade for next time!

($20.82)

Leave a Reply

