Thai Steak Salad and Cauliflower “Popcorn”

Tonight I made Thai Steak Salad with Roasted Chili Mango Vinaigrette. Josh commented that he has been really impressed with all the delicious Paleo meals I have come up with so far, and for that I only have Jessica from How Sweet Eats to thank. Her recipe lists have been delicious and surprisingly easy to adapt when necessary. That is high praise from my fiance, as he doesn’t always appreciate all the experimental cooking I do. He can sometimes complain that he wishes I would make some of the “normal” meals he is used to eating more frequently. So I practically glowed at his compliment!

Tonight’s meal consisted of a flank steak marinated in a coconut ginger marinade, served over a salad of spring greens, raw cashews, and mango with a roasted chili mango vinaigrette. Raina is allergic to mango, or so her and her dad claim, so I had made a separate mango-free salad and dressing for her. Consequently I also threw in a bunch of avocado and opal apple chunks into our salads. Her dressing ended up being really tasty. Much better than our mango vinaigrette, although that could be because mango isn’t really in season right now.

For her dressing I simply mixed apple cider vinegar, honey, and olive oil together for a super-tasty dressing. I think I will be making more of that to keep in the fridge for future dinner salads!

Josh works nights, therefore on the nights he has to go to work, I need to have dinner on the table by 5 o’clock. This leaves Raina and I feeling a bit snacky before bedtime. Tonight I tossed some cauliflower florets with olive oil and threw them on a pan, sprinkled with sea salt, and put in the oven at 400 for an hour. every 15 minutes I tossed them around and added more salt. Raina and I shared our cauliflower “popcorn” while we watched a movie this evening, and we agreed this snack was a hit. That’s right, my 6 year old loved my snack made of cauliflower. I love my kids.

(Thai Steak Salad $22.46, Cauliflower Popcorn $4.98)

Leave a Reply

