Asian Pulled Pork Lettuce Wraps

Tonight was a little… salty. I made How Sweet Eat’s Sweet and Spicy Pork Shoulder. It seemed as though it would have been delicious, but either I overdid it seasoning the meat before searing, or perhaps the liquid aminos I used instead of the low-sodium soy sauce imparted way too much salty flavor.

If I made this again I would definitely go easy on the salt. Perhaps just seasoning the pork shoulder with herbs rather than salt.

I won’t bother to list the ingredients I used this evening, just follow the link. I substituted honey in equal parts for the brown sugar, and liquid aminos for the soy sauce. I served it with butter lettuce for wrapping and Alexia’s sweet potato puffs. The total cost for the meal came out to $15.58.

To summarize, I whisked together 1/2 cup of liquid aminos, 1/3 cup of honey, 1/4 cup of sriracha sauce, and a couple heaping spoonfuls of hoisin in the slow cooker. I browned the pork roast on all sides and then put it in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours and then shredded and added some of the sauce, sesame oil, and chili garlic condiment.

The cucumbers were shaved with a peeler and mixed with some sesame oil, mirin, chili garlic condiment, and apple cider vinegar.

I would like to try this recipe again with less salt, but today wasn’t a home run.

Leave a Reply

