Yummy Paleo Noodle Night!

Today I adapted a recipe from the blogger at How Sweet Eats to suit our Paleo needs at home. The original recipe, Thai Drunken Zucchini Noodles with Spicy Honey Chicken was already pretty in line with Paleo restrictions, so not very many tweaks were necessary. I substituted liquid aminos for the soy sauce and raw cashews for the peanuts. We are big eaters around here so I pretty much doubled the recipe, and we demolished it. This recipe kicked so much ass! Josh and I felt like it was pretty restaurant quality. Next time I think I would add even more zucchini and bell pepper to bulk it up some. Unfortunately I forgot to include the fresh basil and hot chili oil this time around. Ingredients, prices, and whatnot are as follows:

  •  2 tablespoons of Hoisin Sauce ($2.29)
  • 2 tablespoons of liquid aminos (we already had this in the fridge)
  • 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce ($2.24)
  • 4 tablespoons of sweet chili sauce ($2.85)
  • 4 tablespoons of coconut oil ($4.98)
  • 2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1 inch cubes and seasoned generously with kosher salt, pepper, garlic salt, and paprika ($5.63)
  • 3 tablespoons of Sriracha sauce (we ALWAYS have this in the kitchen!)
  • 3 tablespoons of honey (we already had this)
  • 2 minced shallots ($0.80)
  • 3 tablespoons of minced garlic (we already had this)
  • 1 sliced red bell pepper ($1.48)
  • 1 bunch of green onions, sliced ($0.48)
  • 1¾ pounds of spiralized zucchini ($2.65)
  • 2 teaspoons of hot chili oil ($2.85)
  • ¼ cup of raw cashew pieces ($1.23)
  • 1 bunch of fresh basil ($0.98)

In a large skillet over medium heat I put the Hoisin sauce, liquid aminos, oyster sauce, and sweet chili sauce together and stirred it, cooking it down a bit for around 3 or 4 minutes and transferred it to a little bowl.

Next I added some spoonfuls of coconut oil and threw in the chicken, cooking it through and then cranking the heat up to high and letting it get nice and browned with a little char on it. I drizzled some honey and sriracha over all the chicken and stirred, cooking it for a few more minutes before transferring all the chicken to a bowl, leaving the drippings.

I threw in the shallots, garlic, and bell pepper and stirred this occasionally (rarely) for around five minutes and then added in the chicken, sauce, zucchini, and green onions. I divided up the mixture into bowls and tossed some raw cashews on.

Next time I need to remember to drizzle with hot chili oil and top with some torn basil.

Altogether this meal cost $28.48 to make because I lacked all the Asian inspired sauces, although I DEFINITELY plan to cook it again in the future. Since I already have all the ingredients now, and with the tweaks I would make, it should cost around $17.38 to make next time.

It was super easy to make as well, especially since I prepared by having all the zucchini and green onions in a bowl; the shallots, garlic, and bell pepper in a bowl; and the chicken in a bowl.

This recipe was a Paleo win.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0

Leave a Reply

